Frequently Asked Questions
What does the State of Minnesota require?
The state requires that you get 30 hours of classroom training and 6 hours of BTW (behind-the-wheel) training in order to take the State exams. Once the classroom is completed and you signed up for the behind the wheel you will receive your “Blue Card”. Once you receive your permit and have finished all 6 hours of BTW training you will receive your “White Card”. When you are 16 years old, have completed your driving log and have had your permit for at least 6 months you can take your road test.
How do I get started?
Bring in a completed registration form and payment on the first day of class. You may register online or by phone or bring in a completed registration form. Call ahead for a schedule or just show up a little before class is to start on the day you want to start. We do take reservations during the summer due to large class sizes.
How old do I have to be to start?
You only need to be 14 years old. You cannot take your permit test until you are 15 but you can have the classroom completed while you are 14.
Do you have a schedule of classes?
Yes, and you can see it here.
What if I am over 18?
If you are over 18 you do not need the classes if you feel like you can pass the test on your own. Otherwise we have BTW training available to you to help you prepare for the Minnesota Road test.
Where are you located?
Our Main Office/Classroom is located at:
6001 Egan Dr, Suite 191
Savage, MN 55378
What if I took my classroom at my school or somewhere else? Can I do my BTW with 1st Class Driving School?
Yes you can! All you need to do is ask for a letter of completion from your instructor when you finish class. Bring this to us, and we can get you signed up for the three 2-hour BTW lessons with us.
How much does it cost?
When paid up front, the cost is $395 for the whole package (classroom and BTW). Alternatively, you may elect classroom-only training for $210, but it is not recommended because the BTW component will still be required by the state, and obtaining BTW-only training is typically difficult and costly.
Do I have to take the classes in numerical order?
Nope! You can take the classes in any order. However, class 10 is a review and should be taken last if possible.
When do I take my Behind the Wheel lessons?
Once you pass your written test and have your permit, call us to schedule your first BTW lesson.
How far in advance should I schedule my BTW lessons?
Call at least 2 months in advance to schedule your BTW lessons.